October Lost in the Stacks

by Blair Henson, Library Director

It’s spooky season! At the library this means our staff have been busy but having fun decorating the library, planning awesome programs (pumpkin painting anyone?!), finalizing their Hallowread lists (more on this later), and welcoming the month of scares with open arms (Amuck, amuck, amuck!). We’ve got lots of programs planned for all ages, so make sure you check out our events on our myLIBRO app, our website (https://guymon.okpls.org), or on Facebook! Pumpkin painting, pumpkin carving, a costume parade for the little ones, and a special event for Halloween night to introduce Guymon Public Library’s newest and most exciting newest addition to our services! Keep an eye out on myLIBRO, our website, and/or our Facebook page for details.

Halloween is a time to celebrate all things spooky and scary! And for some bibliophiles, it’s a time to celebrate Hallowread! Hallowread is observed by creating a list of scary, spooky, and/or horror-filled books and dedicating your reading time to reading those books during the month of October. I started celebrating Hallowread with several other librarians in Oklahoma two years ago. Most of us have read the classic Stephen King thrillers, so we branched out to new horror/scary story genre authors. Some personal favorites, and my Hallowread authors for this year, are Darcy Coates (“Then the voice rose, flooding his ears, filling his head, raw and battered with terror: ’There are bodies in the walls.’”), Isabel Cañas (the new gothic novel!), and Alma Katsu (I can’t wait to read her haunted Titanic novel). I’ll be posting the books as my Director’s Picks for this month, so keep an eye on our Facebook page for those titles. Or feel free to dash on over to our Facebook and share some of your own picks!

Our featured digital service this month is Brainfuse’s HelpNow. HelpNow is an all-in-one suite of tutoring services where tutors and students communicate in real time in an online classroom. Students can also access the writing lab to improve writing skills, collaborate with others and more. One of our favorite features is a bank of flash cards and practice questions for all subjects including math, science, English, etc. The service also offers practice tests for students taking the ACT and/or SAT. Do you have a student who isn’t sure which field to study in college? HelpNow offers an exploratory test to help place your student in the appropriate field of study. And, as you can see, HelpNow isn’t just for elementary and secondary education. The service also has assistance for adult learners in college or working on preparing to take the GED. Access to HelpNow is free for anyone with a Guymon Public Library card! We’re always excited about new books at the library! October’s featured children’s book is A Spoonful of Frogs. Frogs are the most important ingredient in a witch’s favorite treat—but they are also the hardest to get into the cauldron! From acclaimed author Casey Lyall and Caldecott Honor artist Vera Brosgol, A Spoonful of Frogs is a humorous and wholly original picture book—and a winning recipe for readers who loved Dragons Love Tacos and Room on the Broom. Our teen featured book this month is Prince of the Song and Sea by Linsey Miller. The first in a new young adult series, Prince of the Song and Sea retells the story of The Little Mermaid from Prince Eric’s point of view. And, finally, our featured adult book this month is The Poison Machine by Robert J. Lloyd. The follow up to The Bloodless Boy, The Poison Machine is set in London in 1679 and features real historic characters such as Christopher Wren and Isaac Newton, as early scientists Harry Hunt and Robert Hooke of the Royal Society stumble on a plot to kill the Queen of England. Check out these titles and more on our library catalog (https://guymon.biblionix.com) or by stopping by the library. See you in the stacks!